REMEMBERING MY ROOTS

No matter how successful or famous you get in life, the one thing you should never forget is the tradition and culture that you belong to.

4 (2)

Living far away from my Homeland, it sometimes gets easier to adapt the lifestyle and culture of the modern city that I’m in and forget the culture and tradition that I belong to. And let’s get real, it’s not just me here. Deep down, we’re all guilty of falling into the temptation that we are offered. There’s no denying about the fact that I love the city I live in, the high street brands that I get to wear, the exotic food that I get to taste and the lavish lifestyle that any big city (let’s say) has to offer. But when it comes to choosing between the modern lifestyle and the culture that I belong to, I will never think twice before choosing the latter. 

In a generation where in order to ‘Fit in’, you need to be ‘cool’ and ‘westernized’ in a certain way, it is equally important to remember your roots and the culture and tradition you belong to. We must be able to be proud of our tradition that shaped us to be who we are today. We must celebrate our culture and heritage instead of being ashamed of it. 

Even in terms of fashion, I love my western outfits a lot and in fact wear them more often than any of my traditional wear. But I have come to the realization that it’s time to start embracing the beauty of one’s own traditional wear and flaunt it as much as possible especially to churches or special occasions. Back in Guwahati our Fellowship has made a rule of wearing one’s own traditional wear on the first Sunday of every month which I think is such a great idea. I truly believe that no matter how modernized we get, we should always be able to go back and be proud of our culture because that’s where the true satisfaction lies.

7

6oo35 (2)

Here, I’m wearing a HMAR PUON which is hands down my favorite among our traditional wrappers. I have paired it with a simple black blazer because when wearing a traditional wrapper, it’s always best to keep the top as simple as possible so as to keep the attention solely on the beauty of the wrapper. 

Hope you all liked this post and do let me know what you think of it 🙂

Until next time,

Love always! 

3 thoughts on “REMEMBERING MY ROOTS

  1. I post thra khawp el, k lungrila um leh ka lo ngaituo ve hlak a ni leiin I thil post hi tha ka ti in ka lungril a tawk khawp el. Hnam dang hmusit lova mani hnam ngai pawimawh leh ngaihluo dingin Pathienin I post hih malsawm sien ti chu ka ditsakna insang tak ka hlan che. May God Bless you.

  2. Well said, young lady! Remembering our roots is the most important thing no matter what!
    Be an inspiration to everyone, may God Bless you..

Leave a Reply

