THE MODERN DRAPE

3

We just had our Graduation Day (GRAD-D) a few days back and it made me all the more nostalgic. I can’t believe it’s already been three years in Delhi AND in LSR because I can still recall the very first day I joined this college. Ah! Time flies so quickly! And now that I’m graduating, I already feel so old and still can’t swallow the fact that I’ll have to get all the more serious in life, be independent and learn to support myself. It’s crazy.

14Anyways, keeping all the emotional feelings apart, I just wanted to share the outfit that I’ve put up for the Graduation Day. We were actually given the freedom to wear anything but since Grad-D comes once in a lifetime, wearing a dress or anything of that sort was too mainstream. Sure enough, everyone planned to wear either a saree or their own traditional outfit. But since we’ll be having our Department farewell in two days, I and my friends decided to save our traditional wear for the department farewell and instead opt for a saree. And if you know me, you’ll be knowing how much I love the whole idea of mixing and matching. Like, edgy and classy or feminine, mixing prints, so even in this case, I wanted to add a little flavor of modern to the normal Indian saree. Also, being a huge fan of Anamika Khanna, I decided to take inspiration from her designs hence this Dhoti Saree. For those of you who don’t know what ‘Dhoti’ is, in simple terms it is a garment worn by the male Hindus in India, consisting of a piece of material tied around the waist and extending to cover most of the legs. And since I knew very well that I won’t be able to carry off a normal saree (well, I’m not as graceful or girly as my photos or style convey. LOL), I came up with this idea and it was surely one of the best decision ever because it was so comfortable plus at the same time, very stylish. And here’s a secret: the whole saree was under 1000INR(approx 16USD). Well, it wasn’t actually a ready made saree. I bought the chiffon fabric for 300INR(approx 4USD) and the embroidery for 400INR(approx 6USD) and asked a tailor to stitch it and voila! I was quite impressed by the way it turned out. And I switched from the normal blouse to a black full sleeve crop top to match the black leggings below and I kept the accessories loud since I felt that the saree was quite simple for a graduation day. To flash the accessories, I opted for a loose braided bun and completed the look with a white bag, embellished nude sandals and, of course my favorite dramatic winged liner.

2131211This look is perfect for any occasion and is a great alternative to the normal saree. Do try it out if you want to give that little twist of modern to your traditional saree and feel free to ask me if you have any queries on how to wear it.:)

91065

Lastly, I’d like to thank all you lovelies who have liked this look of mine and left the sweetest comments on my INSTAGRAM and FACEBOOK. You guys are the best! 🙂

Details of my outfit:

  • Saree (Chiffon fabric & embroidery): LAJPAT NAGAR MARKET, New Delhi
  • Jewelries: LAJPAT NAGAR MARKET, New Delhi
  • Crop top: Koovs (get it here)
  • Leggings: Thrifted
  • Rings: Forever21
  • Bag: Saumya&Bhavini Modi
  • Heels: ZARA
  • On my eyes: LAKME 9to5 impact BLACK eyeliner (get it here)
  • On my Lips: Oriflame VeryMe Lip crayon ‘CORAL’ (here or here) and ELLE 18 Color boost ’02 PRIMROSE BLUSH’ (any drugstores near you.)
6 thoughts on “THE MODERN DRAPE

  1. I have been following you since day one. And you really are an amazing blogger. But just one thing, a short tutorial (picture/video) would have done great justice. Just saying. God bless. 😊😊

Leave a Reply

